A Little Slice of Denmark

IMG_0194-2

A little while ago on my way back from a photo-shoot in Melbourne’s legal district, I found myself in Little Bourke St, outside Denmark House, a venue that showcases all things Danish. As it so happened, it was ‘open day,’ so I decided to pop in and have a gander at this “heartbeat of Danish culture, commerce and cuisine.”

IMG_0195-2

This being my first visit, I was blown away by the slick Neo Modernist Nordic lines of the decor and the architectural design of the place.  It was late in the day and the light was fading but I managed to take a couple of shots. So with a little spare time on my hands today, I’m going to do the opposite of what I have been doing for the last 148 days of my photo colourisation challenge. I’ve taken some coloured photos and converted them to sepia toned black and white!

IMG_0197-2

Nestled in Melbourne’s CBD, Denmark House offers visitors titbits of culture and history as well as morsels of food. Housed up on the 3rd floor of the building is Dansk Restaurant stylishly fitted out to serve diners a little slice of Denmark.

IMG_0185-2The light shades hanging from the wooden ceilings look like they could have been designed by Jørn Utzo, the Danish architect of Sydney Opera House.

IMG_0196-2

Urban design at its best, blonde wood furniture abounds in this red brick warehouse interior with industrial metal window-frames, and everything neatly in its place.

IMG_0192-2

Denmark House was oozing with Scandinavian virtuosity and if it wasn’t for the familiar vistas of Melbourne peeking in through its large windows, one could be mistaken for thinking they were in wonderful, wonderful Copenhagen.

This entry was posted in Architecture, Black & White, Denmark, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

